…Less is more…
40 years of minimal art at Frac Sud

From January 20th to May 19th, 2024

The Bonisson Art Center will be closed from January 8th to 19th included. Reopening on January 20th, 2024.
In the meantime, the Château Bonisson tasting cellar remains open, Thursday through Sunday from 1:30pm to 6:30pm.

As part of its “Hors-les-murs” activities, the Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain and the Bonisson Art Center are organizing the exhibition …Less is more…

The Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain’s missions are to support contemporary creation, transmission and mediation for real access to contemporary art for all. Created 40 years ago, it runs a dual program in situ and in the region, intending to offer all audiences the opportunity to discover contemporary art. With more than 1,400 works with more than 650 artists represented, the Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain has remained attentive through its acquisitions to the plurality of forms of artistic research.

The Bonisson Art Center wishes to intervene in the highlighting of works, but also in the development of the artists’ careers. It sets itself 3 priority missions: support for contemporary creation, the dissemination of contemporary art in its territory, training of audiences.

This exhibition brings together renowned artists and others who have more recently appeared on the contemporary art circuit. Works by regional, national and international artists intersect, highlighting different mediums such as drawing, painting, photography, sculpture and even installation.

Exhibition curator: Christian Le Dorze
All of the works presented belong to the collection of the Fonds Régional d’Art Contemporain Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur.

The exhibition is open to the public during opening hours, Tuesday to Sunday, 11am to 7pm.
Guided tours of the exhibition are available on Saturdays and Sundays at 4pm, by prior arrangement.

Martin BARRÉ
Martin Barré, 91-92 – 104 x 108 – B, 1991/1992.
Collection Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain © Adagp, Paris, 2023
Bernard MONINOT
Bernard Moninot, Les tours, 1987.
Collection Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain © Adagp, Paris, 2023
Noël DOLLA
Noël Dolla, Jalousie V ou portrait d’un membre du P.C.F. dans sa cuisine en 1940, 1992.
Collection Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain © Adagp, Paris, 2023

The expression minimal art was born in 1965 by the philosopher Richard Wolheim in Arts Magazine. This reductive designation, defined by the concern for economy of means, will however not be accepted by certain artists who believe that the sober and “poor” aspect of their art is not enough to define it.

In 1965, the architect Ludwig Mies Van der Rohe, director of the Bauhaus, commented on minimal art with the motto “Less is more” borrowed from Robert Browning, a British poet.

Earlier abstract movements (Russian Suprematists and Constructivists of the 1910s and 1920s, geometric abstraction) were a vital influence towards the techniques and ideas of minimalism.

In the years 64-65, in reaction to the subjective overflow of American abstract expressionism and the figuration of Pop Art, several artists (notably Ad Reinhardt, Donald Judd, Robert Morris, Sol Le Witt, Dan Flavin, Frank Stella, Carl André…) questioned the conventional limits of what can be considered a work of art.

They published articles at the time that shaped and described the aesthetic of minimalism.

In particular, the viewer had to easily understand the work and its interpretation depended on the content and conditions envisaged in the objects. These artists wanted to get back to basics, to raw material, to space. The artist’s mark is almost completely erased and no symbolic meaning is claimed. Unlike classical art, the works initially seem devoid of emotional charge.

Minimal art is characterized by extremely spare works, emphasizing space, simple geometric elements and repetition (seriality). A work must therefore be neither decorative nor monumental.

…Less is more…

40 ans d’art minimal au Frac Sud
Du 20 janvier au 19 mai 2024

Dans le cadre de ses activités « Hors-les-murs », le Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain et le Bonisson Art Center organisent l’exposition …Less is more…

Le Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain a pour missions le soutien à la création contemporaine, la transmission et la médiation pour un réel accès de tous à l’art contemporain. Créé il y a 40 ans, il mène de front une double programmation in situ et en région, entendant offrir à tous les publics la possibilité de découvrir l’art contemporain. Fort de plus de 1400 œuvres avec plus de 650 artistes représentés, le Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain a su rester attentif à travers ses acquisitions à la pluralité des formes de recherche artistiques.

Le Bonisson Art Center souhaite intervenir dans la mise en lumière des œuvres, mais aussi dans le déroulement de la carrière des artistes. Il se fixe 3 missions prioritaires: le soutien à la création contemporaine, la diffusion de l’art contemporain dans son territoire, la formation des publics.

Cette exposition réunit des artistes de renoms et d’autres ayant plus récemment fait leur apparition dans le circuit de l’art contemporain. Des œuvres d’artistes régionaux, nationaux et internationaux se croisent, mettant en valeur différents médiums tels que le dessin, la peinture, la photographie, la sculpture ou encore l’installation.

Commissariat de l’exposition: Christian Le Dorze
L’ensemble des œuvres présentées appartiennent à la collection du Fonds Régional d’Art Contemporain Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur.

L’exposition se visite de manière libre aux horaires d’ouverture, du jeudi au dimanche de 13h30 à 18h30.
Des visites guidées de l’exposition sont organisées les dimanches à 16h sur réservation.

Martin BARRÉ
Martin Barré, 91-92 – 104 x 108 – B, 1991/1992.
Collection Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain © Adagp, Paris, 2023
Bernard MONINOT
Bernard Moninot, Les tours, 1987.
Collection Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain © Adagp, Paris, 2023
Noël DOLLA
Noël Dolla, Jalousie V ou portrait d’un membre du P.C.F. dans sa cuisine en 1940, 1992.
Collection Frac Sud – Cité de l’art contemporain © Adagp, Paris, 2023

L’expression art minimal naît en 1965 chez le philosophe Richard Wolheim dans Arts Magazine. Cette appellation réductrice, définie par le souci d’économie de moyens ne sera cependant pas acceptée par certains artistes qui estiment que l’aspect sobre et « pauvre » de leur art ne suffit pas à le définir.

En 1965, l’architecte Ludwig Mies Van der Rohe, directeur du Bauhaus, commente l’art minimal par cette devise « Less is more » empruntée à Robert Browning, poète britannique.

Les mouvements abstraits antérieurs (suprématistes et constructivistes russes des années 1910 et 1920, abstraction géométrique) ont exercé une influence essentielle vers les techniques et les idées du minimalisme.

Dans les années 64-65, en réaction au débordement subjectif de l’expressionnisme abstrait américain et à la figuration du Pop Art, plusieurs artistes (notamment Ad Reinhardt, Donald Judd, Robert Morris, Sol Le Witt, Dan Flavin, Frank Stella, Carl André…) ont interrogé les limites conventionnelles de ce qui peut être considéré comme une œuvre d’art.

Ils ont publié à l’époque des articles qui ont façonné et décrit l’esthétique du minimalisme.

Le spectateur devait notamment facilement comprendre l’œuvre et que son interprétation dépendait du contenu et des conditions envisagées dans les objets. Ces artistes voulaient revenir à l’essentiel, à la matière brute, à l’espace. La trace de l’artiste s’efface presque totalement et aucune signification symbolique n’est revendiquée. Contrairement à l’art classique, les œuvres semblent en premier lieu dépourvues de charge émotionnelle.

L’art minimal se caractérise par des œuvres dépouillées à l’extrême, mettant l’accent sur l’espace, les éléments géométriques simples et la répétition (sérialité). Une œuvre doit donc être ni décorative, ni monumentale.